Irondequoit American Legion Post  #134

Heroes preserving our way of life

Our Flag

The Flag should be displayed from sunrise to sunset, on all days when weather permits, especially on:


  • New Year's Day, January 1st.
  • Inauguration Day.
  • Martin Luther King's Birthday, Third Monday in January.
  • Lincoln's Birthday, February 12th.
  • Washington's Birthday, February 22nd.
  • Easter Sunday.
  • Mother's Day, Second Sunday in May.
  • Armed Forces Day, Third Saturday in May.
  • Memorial Day (half-staff until noon), Last Monday in May.
  • Flag Day, June 14th.
  • Independence Day, July 4th.
  • Labor Day, First Monday in September.
  • Constitution Day, September 17th.
  • Columbus Day, October 12th.
  • Navy Day, October 27th. 
  • Veterans Day, November 11th.
  • Thanksgiving Day, Fourth Thursday in November.
  • Christmas Day, December 25th.
  • Election Days (various).
  • Federally observed dates of the above holidays which may be different from the actual dates.
  • Such days as may be proclaimed by the President of the United States.
  • State and Local Holidays.


Why the American Flag is folded 13 times


The first fold of our flag is a symbol of life.

The second fold is a symbol of our belief in eternal life.

The third fold is made in honor and remembrance of the veterans departing our ranks who gave a portion of their lives for the defense of our country to attain peace throughout the world.

The fourth fold represents our weaker nature, for as American citizens trusting in God, it is to Him we turn in times of peace as well as in time of war for His divine guidance.

The fifth fold is a tribute to our country, for in the words of Stephen Decatur, "Our Country, in dealing with other countries, may she always be right; but it is still our country, right or wrong."

The sixth fold is for where our hearts lie. It is with our heart that we pledge allegiance to the flag of the United States of America, and to the Republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with Liberty and Justice for all.

The seventh fold is a tribute to our Armed Forces, for it is through the Armed Forces that we protect our country and our flag against all her enemies, whether they are found within or without the boundaries of our republic.

The eighth fold is a tribute to the one who entered into the valley of the shadow of death, that we might see the light of day, and to honor mother, for whom it flies on Mother's Day.

The ninth fold is a tribute to womanhood; for it has been through their faith, their love, loyalty and devotion that the character of the men and women who have made this country great has been molded.

The tenth fold is a tribute to the father, for he, too, has given his sons and daughters for the defense of our country since they were first born.

The eleventh fold, in the eyes of a Hebrew citizen represents the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon, and glorifies in their eyes, the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.

The twelfth fold, in the eyes of a Christian citizen, represents an emblem of eternity and glorifies, in their eyes, God the Father, the Son, and Holy Spirit.

When the flag is completely folded, the stars are uppermost reminding us of our nation's motto, "In God We Trust". After the flag is completely folded and tucked in, it takes on the appearance of a cocked hat, ever reminding us of the soldiers who served under General George Washington, and the sailors and marines who served under Captain John Paul Jones. Those who were followed by their comrades and shipmates in the Armed Forces of the United States, preserving for us the rights, privileges, and freedoms we enjoy today.

The Colors


Red Signifies Hardiness and Valour.

White Signifies Purity and Innocence.

Blue Signifies Vigilance, Perseverance and Justice.

The Star is a Symbol of the Heavens.

Irondequoit American Legion Post #134 Copyright 2013 Web design by Bill Reger